Building Department

The Building Department ensures that all new buildings and renovations meet applicable building codes as well as local ordinances. Plans are checked by experts in different fields before any building permit is issued. Construction sites are inspected regularly during the building process, and a thorough inspection is made before a Certificate of Occupancy is granted. The Building Department is staffed by three full-time employees. Questions about the Building Department may be directed to the Building Official at (561) 278-4540.

Information

  • 3616 S. Ocean Blvd. Highland Beach, FL 33487
  • (561) 278-4540
  • (561) 278-2606
  • 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
  • Monday – Friday
Image

Jeff Remas 

Building Official
bco@highlandbeach.us


Building Department Contact Information

Office Manager
Carol Holland cholland@highlandbeach.us
Admin Assistant/Permit Specialist
Lindsay Winters lwinters@highlandbeach.us
Code Enforcement Officer
Jason Manko jmanko@highlandbeach.us

Town Planner
Ingrid Allen iallen@highlandbeach.us


In the wake of COVID-19, public access into the Building Department is prohibited.
All new submittals & revisions MUST be submitted online using the below link to the Building Department Online Portal.
Permit pick ups are by appointment ONLY for older permits already started under the old system.
Any further questions please contact the Building Department at 561-278-4540.

Building Department Online Portal Access

2020 Construction Hours

Per the Town's Code of Ordinances Section 12-6, Hours of construction, construction is prohibited between the hours of 5:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. and on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays, which includes any full day when the administrative offices of the Town are closed.

Below is a list of dates that construction work will not be allowed during the 2020 calendar year:

New Year's Day - Wednesday, January 1
Martin Luther King Jr. Day - Monday, January 20
President's Day - Monday, February 17
Memorial Day - Monday, May 25
Independence Day - Friday, July 3
Labor Day - Monday, September 7
Columbus Day - Monday, October 12
Veterans Day - Wednesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day - Thursday, November 26
Thanksgiving Day (After) - Friday, November 27*
Christmas Eve - Thursday, December 24
Christmas Day - Friday, December 25

*Please note that construction is allowed the day after Thanksgiving*